WWW Wednesday [31/1/17]

Welcome back to WWW Wednesday, hosted by Taking On a World of Books.

wwwwednesday

The aim is to answer the following 3 questions and link up with other book bloggers:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

 


 

1. What are you currently reading?

I realised this week I was getting into a bit of a reading slump, which probably explains the million books I’m currently reading. I just felt swamped by all these books. So you won’t see much progress from last week…

  • Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell – 46%
  • The Invention of Celebrity by Antoine Lilti – 26%.
  • Pour une enfance heureuse by Dr. Catherine Gueguen – 37%.
  • Women & Children First by Gill Paul – 10%. I started it in the hope it would get me out of the slump. It’s okay but not compelling.

13487427I will add my other currently reading books in the hope it’ll make me accountable and I’ll see some progress as I’m not often actively working on them.

  • Contes Parisiens by Maupassant – 43%. It’s got nearly 1000 pages so I read a short story now and then. I have it upstairs on my bedside table and read from it if I don’t have my tablet with my ebooks.
  • Le Ventre de Paris (The Belly of Paris) by Emile Zola – 28%. I’m reading this one for research for my novel. Unfortunately I haven’t got much time to do this at the moment.
  • The Mistresses of Cliveden by Natalie Livingstone – 10%. I requested this for review almost 2 years ago… I do find it interesting but somehow always read something else.
  • Histoire de la Russie et de son Empire by Michel Heller – 14%. It’s a brick, so I took a break from it about a year ago and then never got round to it again.
  • Emotional Blackmail by Susan Forward – 24%. I lent it to my sister so it’s her fault I can’t read it 😀
  • The Olive Fairy Book by Andrew Lang – 21%. Another one I like but I got sidetracked and haven’t got back to it yet.

2. What did you recently finish reading? (You can read my reviews by clicking on the title)

Reviews for the last two books will be published later on this week.

3. What do you think you’ll read next?

No idea! I’m hoping to work through all my books and then who knows?!

Did you read anything nice this week?

8 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday [31/1/17]

Leave a comment